top of page
  • abates144

The Art of Game Design - Chapter 2 & 3

Once again, I have to commend the writer for creating such an inviting and understanding tone. It is so interesting how at times it feels like he’s reading my mind, or thinking thoughts for me. Similar to his thoughts on talent and skill in chapter one, here in chapter 2, he delivers an idea I never thought about before. The Heisenberg principle or “paralysis by analysis” is something I have suffered from my entire life. I have been stuck trying to comprehend while trying to experience while trying to analyze myself for so long. My entire life, I have identified with not reading books because this would happen to me. I could not escape the “paralysis of analysis.” I could never understand something quick enough, or stop being chronically aware of what I am experiencing. I have no clue why I am so introspective. It has been my biggest tool and my biggest enemy. The suggestions he gave to help with introspection, the majority of them I already do, which is why this entire section felt like he was speaking to me. He was describing experiences that happened in my brain while they were actually happening in my brain. My introspective self felt very seen. I am genuinely curious if other people go through the same things as me. I know I can not be the only person that goes through this level of thought and introspection. I wonder how they keep this from derailing them because there are too many times to count when it has derailed me.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading: Chapters 8 & 9

Reading The Art of Game Design has felt like I have been reading a guide to becoming an adequate game designer. We are coming up on our...

Commentaires


bottom of page