top of page
  • abates144

The Art of Game Design - Chapter 1

I was surprised to find this reading to be so understanding and aware. When I read something, the tone always sticks out to me quickly. I feel like many times throughout this chapter, the author was speaking directly to me.


Even as a graphic designer, I still do not feel worthy of the title. I still feel like I need to be better equipped. So coming into this game design class, my mind has made the idea of becoming a game designer feel insurmountable. That is something I know I need to work on, and I am. It is just more challenging than it sounds. I can not just “Blow away these useless thoughts.” It sounds like you are saying, “Just be confident,” and it is not that easy, for me at least. In the fourteenth paragraph of “Magic Words,” he said, “Some of the greatest innovations have come from people who only succeeded because they were too dumb to know that what they were doing was impossible.” I do not have that gene. I am too chronically aware, and the dumbest trait about me is the stubbornness to change. It is a superpower to ignore the negative thoughts in your mind, and I don’t have it, yet.


I am hopeful for the day when I can just blow those useless thoughts away and become confident enough to believe myself to be a game and graphic designer. I know it will come. I believe it to be inevitable.





The Art of Game Design 2nd Edition by Jesse Schell

International Standard Book Number-13: 978-1-4665-9867-6


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading: Chapters 8 & 9

Reading The Art of Game Design has felt like I have been reading a guide to becoming an adequate game designer. We are coming up on our...

Comments


bottom of page