top of page
  • abates144

Reading: Towards Minimalistic Game Design

I liked the minimalist game design reading. It is helping me appreciate the simplicity of a game's design, rules, mechanics, and aesthetics. Normally I play console games with such complex game rules and mechanics that I can forget the importance of minimalism. Now that I think about it if someone new tried to play the games I play, they probably would not enjoy them. Simply because the player base is so advancedly skilled, and to be consistently successful at the game you need to understand the mechanics. When you keep a game easily accessible and effortlessly digestible, it becomes easier for the player to immerse. Easy immersion normally leads to a favorable playing experience. I am definitely a fan of minimal structure, mechanics, rules, and audio. When it comes the aesthetics I do not like to make it too simplistic. I usually like to aim for something interesting to look at but not too chaotic.








2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading: Chapters 8 & 9

Reading The Art of Game Design has felt like I have been reading a guide to becoming an adequate game designer. We are coming up on our...

Comments


bottom of page