top of page
  • abates144

Reading: Chapters 4 & 5, and Uncrackable Game Article

These were two very interesting readings. When we tried to create a definition of a game in class, it became very mind-boggling for me. I never really thought that deep into what constitutes a game. I started to second-guess every definition that I began to create in my mind. So what is a game? I still do not know. I know it involves play, conflict/challenge, and an outcome of some sort. The ten qualities that the definition of games should be comprised of seem pretty accurate. My only question is does the game have to contain every quality listed in order to be considered a game? I feel like it goes back to the toy example. Yes, games engage their players. Would if, the games does not engage the player? Is it no longer a game, or is it just a bad game? I would think that just because a game does not engage its players, it does not mean it is not a game, it is just a bad one. I feel like at this point, no matter how you try to frame the definition of a game, you can counter it. I feel like the only direction to go is to create something that is broad enough to encapsulate every game.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading: Chapters 8 & 9

Reading The Art of Game Design has felt like I have been reading a guide to becoming an adequate game designer. We are coming up on our...

Comments


bottom of page