top of page
  • abates144

Failure in Video Games

Sometimes I wonder if I am just getting older, or if video games are getting worse. There was a time when I played a rotation of at least five games. Now I only play one game, and even that game is not something to brag about. It is almost like the time when I stopped enjoying network television. I could not tell If I was just getting older, or if Disney Channel genuinely sucked. This is how I feel about gaming at the moment. Reading this article about failure in video games made me think about this. The rate at which video games today coddle their audiences is at an all-time high (pleasing the casuals). I think about learning the game Fortnite for the first time. There was so much failure in the early Fortnite days. I will never forget getting my first “Victory Royale,” never! It is because of how much I failed to get there. The stakes felt real. I was immersed so heavily that it felt like I was actually in the game. But now this is gone. Failure has become scarce in video games. If addicting failure is water, gamers today are deeply dehydrated.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reading: Chapters 8 & 9

Reading The Art of Game Design has felt like I have been reading a guide to becoming an adequate game designer. We are coming up on our...

Comments


bottom of page