top of page
  • abates144

Website Discussion/Review






Mowalola is a website made for the designer Mowalola Ogunlesi. This website is in two parts, one half being a shop where Mowalola sells some of her pieces, mainly clothes and other accessories. The other half of the website is where she showcases her archive/collection. There are five different collections to view starting from 2019 and to now. Each collection displays different themes and styles. The archive side of the website really stands out to me. I love the cyber-internet and Y2K aesthetic. As I myself try to navigate and discover what my interests are as an artist. It is artists like this that really highlight what my interests are. It is something about Mowalola’s work that truly makes me feel excited or desirous. She makes me have artist envy. I recently watched a video that followed her and one of her shows. In that video, she highlighted that you shouldn’t want to do what she is doing, but you should watch her be her and decide what it is to be you. It felt like she said that for people like me. People who can get caught up in the things other people have done and lose sight of who they are. More about the website, I like how some of the collections start with clips from the fashion shows. It shows you how the clothes were worn in motion. I appreciate how the looks are set up in a consistent grid. The models she chooses are mainly minorities, especially black people. The only thing I wish was different about this website is that when you click on one of the images it opens a larger version. I feel like if you had the option to view each work individually, as well as a whole, it would add to the viewing experience. Mowalola Ogunlesi is an artist I am really proud to stumble upon. Her style is something I truly marvel at. 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires

Les commentaires n'ont pas pu être chargés.
Il semble qu'un problème technique est survenu. Veuillez essayer de vous reconnecter ou d'actualiser la page.
bottom of page