top of page
  • abates144

Creative Freedom vs. Copyright

RiP: A Remix Manifesto. A documentary about copyright and content creation in the modern age, and in the documentary they dissect the 21st-century media ecosystem and break down the barrier between consumers and developers in the process.


Do I agree with the overall stance of the film? Yes. Copyright has discouraged people to create and produce when the purpose of copyright was the opposite. It was meant to inspire people to create and produce not discourage them. Once the rights between the authors and the public became imbalanced copyright began to be overbearing. Plus, it’s also important to note that the imbalance isn’t in favor of the author or the public, it’s in favor of the corporations ’in charge’ of the author.


I’ve made money from art before, and if someone were to take the art I’ve created and changed it for their own art I wouldn’t have a problem at all. I’d understand why you would be frustrated if a person just simply copied and pasted your art, put their name on it, and profited from it, but if they changed it in a way that it’s no longer the original art then I don’t see a problem.


I believe the overarching overall problem of copyright is the huge companies getting angry about something they didn’t even create themselves. Majority of the time the artists that create the art don’t even care, especially if that artist believes it was fair use. I don’t know how you can make companies more sympathetic and less of emotionless robots. I think the people at those large corporations lack the ability to look through someone else’s eyes, and with that, they’ve lost touch with the public completely.






5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page